There are a lot of good films out there and when it comes to this topic there are hundreds I could go and write about how great the opening credits sequences are. I love unusual, Motion Graphic and animated opening credit sequences – it has been very hard to decide what films to put in here mainly because I have watched too many films that it is hard to remember  a lot of the opening sequences and secondly because I watch a lot of animated movies (A genre that i love so dearly) it was also very hard not to include them. There are many great movies out there and I know i haven’t even began to list all of the great opening title sequences but here are a few that strongly stick in my mind and the reasons why.

Here are 6 of them:

Spider-Man (2002)

This was the first opening title sequence that popped into my mind. I remember going to the cinema to see this really clearly. I remember sitting about 5 rows from the front and seeing this opening title sequence and thinking “this film looks like it is going to be awesome.” I think one thing that makes a great opening title sequence is the music – now i am a huge Danny Elfman fan (at the time i didn’t realise this piece of music was produced by him) but I think it is one of the reasons that it sticks in my head a lot these days as I have a playlist on Spotify with his music.  The one thing that stands out for me in this opening title sequence is the webs and the way that the text transforms when it moves out of the we and I liked this as at the time it was a very unusual type of opening sequence and stood out among the rest.

 

(500) Days Of Summer (2009)

I love the hand drawn graphics that are used throughout this film (especially halfway through the film to connote emotion) I really like the way that the opening titles are broken up – the way that it first states that it is not based on true events then mentions a specific person, then it becomes hand drawn and then it shows the lead male and female growing up in a split screen.

Opening titles

Text in opening titles

Down With Love (2003)

The film is set in the 1960’s and is based around a publishers and magazine and this is one thing I love about the opening titles is that it is all animated and very clever how the text appears. I think it is very well thought out and goes very well with the Michael Buble song.

Down With love Titles

An example of the use of graphics

Drop Dead Fred (1991)

This makes my choices firstly because of Nostalgia (it was one of my favourite films as a kid) and also it has always stuck in my head because of the child like drawings and because of the music.

Drop Dead Fred Opening

Drop Dead Fred Opening 2

Drop Dead Fred 3

Grease (1978)

I remember as a kid being fascinated and wondering how was the opening title even made. I was always amazed by hand drawn animations and Grease was def one of the tops that I loved.

Catch Me if You Can (2002)

This is a film that I still want to see but the opening titles I have seen a number of times and really like the use of vector graphics to connote the film.

AND FINALLY i can’t leave without mentioning at least one of the many iconic opening title sequences.

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

so here is the opening to my favourite film

Next week new feature – A little thing called Television 

