thumbnail_SQUADTHUMB2

A DC fan girl to the core, I stand by the stance that the DC universe has the best villains. Who doesn’t love The Joker, Lex Luthor, Penguin, Riddler and Gorilla Grodd? So when, in 1987, John Ostrander created the Suicide Squad, it was safe to say people were excited. The Squad, otherwise known as Task Force X, actually debuted much earlier in a 1959 issue of The Brave and the Bold, but it wasn’t until Ostrander took over in ’87 that we got the setup we all know and love today.  Argus agent Amada Waller leads the charge, creating Task Force X, a team of highly dangerous individuals, in prison for a range of heinous crimes. Each are coerced into joining the task force, with the promise of a reduced sentence and the threat of an immediate death should they disobey an order. The original ‘87 line-up
thumbnail_.facebook_1470912772054included characters such as Deadshot, Captain Boomerang, Bronze Tiger and Enchantress.

Being born in ’88 myself I didn’t start reading the comic until the mid 90’s, but I remember thinking ‘why are there not more villain centric stories?’. I was hooked and when Harley Quinn was introduced to the line up my enjoyment levels soared, it was hard to imagine the Squad before her initiation.  Those of you that know me know how much I adore Harley. I often cosplay as her and collect pretty much anything with her face on it. It is no surprise then that when DC and Warner Brothers announced a Suicide Squad movie I was equal parts excited and nervous.

thumbnail_blog2

I had grown up with these characters and have previously seen DC characters, I know and love, crash and burn in the cinematic universe, so was rather apprehensive in the run up to the film’s release. When casting announcements were made I did my best to reserve judgement but was pretty open about my fears of Will Smith playing Deadshot. I had worried that the movie would become another Hanncock. I was, however, super excited to hear that Jared Leto has been cast as Mista Jay himself. As a huge 30 Seconds to Mars fan, I already had massive love for Leto and this news only made it grow. I mean come on the guy is an Oscar winning actor, why would you not be excited to have him on board?

Then came the news that Margot Robbie was going to the Princess of Crime herself, Harley Quinn. I had only seen her in Wolf of Wall street and didn’t have much to go on, so held on until they began to release concept art to make any judgements.
thumbnail_BLOG3 My initial response, I admit, was negative. I hated the costume choice for her. To me HQ is black and red or red and blue. Seeing the concept art with her pigtails dip dyed blue and pink set my fan girl mind into a rage. Then I heard some early on set recordings of her character voice and was gutted to hear a lack of Sorkin magic. So when the film finally dropped I didn’t have high hopes.

 

However, last week on a rainy day in Newquay, Adam and I headed to the cinema
and within five minutes I had a grin wider than the Joker’s on my face.  All my worries bar one were set to rest and I thoroughly enjoyed the film, so much so that I will be going to see it again this week. To hear my thoughts on the film and find out what worry wasn’t put to rest watch the video below.

Lucky for me earlier in the week I had received my DC Legion of Collectors box. For those of you who don’t know the Legion of Collectors box is a two monthly subscription box from Funko and DC. Every box contains an exclusive Funko Pop figure, a Tshirt and a bunch of super cool exclusive DC items. Each box is themed so you get a rough idea of the types of items you may get, which is handy if you only want to collect certain titles. This month’s theme was Suicide Squad to tie in with the release of the movie.

In other news Xander Lee, the best artist in Devon, has informed me that the art for my channel will be ready for a September launch. We will be running a huge giveaway to tie in with the launch so make sure you subscribe to the channel to be in with a chance of winning some amazing prizes, next month.

Subscribe: by clicking here

Follow on Twitter by clicking here

