Back in 2012 I was all over the place with my career and deciding what route to take. I had studied an Interactive Media course at university and wasn’t sure really where I wanted to go after my degree. A lot of people went into web design but that wasn’t for me and it was not what I wanted to do. I had moved back to London as I wanted to try and get into working in Television. That was where my heart had always been to work but I was scared as I thought at the time only people who did degrees in television production could really be recognised or even go the distance. I wasn’t really sure how to go about it or what lied ahead, all i knew was that I wanted to work in TV.

I worked for a Cloud company for a while doing their social media feeds and content and if i am honest I hated it. I wanted to work with cameras, editing, photoshop, graphics, not tweeting or reading stuff on Twitter deciding what to retweet. I quit the job after 2 and a half months as I was unhappy and really felt very low that I was not in the field of work that I wanted to be in. From then on I decided that the only was I was going to start being recognised to do more work experience related to television and searched the site Mandy which is known for advertising both paid and unpaid jobs and this is where everything from then on both career and comedy wise, changed forever.

I found a job advert for a comedy online channel called ComComedy who were looking for an editor to help produce promotional videos for up and coming comedians. I applied for it actually with a spark in my body feeling that this could be the lead to something. I got an email back from a girl called Sara asking if I wanted to meet her and a guy called Dan in a cafe in Borough Market to discuss it more, so i went along. It was a bright sunny day and I remember talking a lot about American comedy as I had recently got into listening to Dane Cook Stand Up. I can’t remember much more apart from being asked to do a test promo with The Boy With Tape On His Face and from then on it was all the way with comedy. 

The-Boy-With-Tape-Website-M

I was given loads of movies with full Edinburgh shows and interviews with comedians that I would then have to make mini promotional videos from. From doing these edits I found some great new acts I had never heard of that were great and others that were not as great but were still good to see what sort of comedy there is out there. Another great thing that ComComedy did was host comedy shows in Hoxton in London with a whole variation of acts – about 5 each time and again it opened my eyes to some of the great acts that are out there.

One of my friends got pulled up on stage for Late Night Gimp Fight at one of the shows 

I don’t freelance for ComComedy any more, however, i do keep in contact with the team as they are a great bunch of people that are really good fun to be around. This post is dedicated to ComComedy and the acts that I have discovered thanks to Sara, Kenny and Dan for taking me on and leading me into my love for the stand up genre now.

Top 10 Acts I have Discovered thanks to ComComedy

  1. Noise Next Door                                                                                                                        
  2. Mae Martin                                                                                                                                        
  3. The Boy With Tape On His Face                                                                                             
  4. Frisky and Mannish                                                                                                                          
  5. Piff the Magic Dragon                                                                                                               
  6. Late Night Gimp Fight                                                                                                                 
  7. Daniel Simonsen                                                                                                                        
  8. Margaret Chow                                                                                                                                    
  9. WitTank                                                                                                                                        
  10. John Hastings                                                                                                                                 
