Hello and welcome to a new feature that is brand spanking new to The Phoenix this year! Three years ago i bought a book in Tampa which is meant to be a great for creative like minds and for the past three years I have made it my New Years Resolution to complete it. The book is called 642 Things To Write About by The San Francisco Writers Grotto. I never got round to writing many of them so what’s a better way then getting through them then writing a few as an article each week! Enjoy!

6 – Tell a Story that begins with a ransom note

“We have taken Dave captive.If you do not bring us one hundred gold coins we will destroy him.”

I knew who this ransom note was from: the evil Olly. I grab my coat and my wallet and head to the high street to grab what is required to save Dave. TIme is ticking away and I must fight to save one of my favourite people.

I take out my phone and locate the base of evil Olly: from research I discover there is a secret lair in the back garden of the neighbour that would explain why and how he was able to kidnap Dave so easy.

I find the entrance which is disguised as a dog kennel (well,Olly was an evil alien trapped in a jack Russell’s body) and press the squeaky dog bone which zooms me down to a massive room full of computers and Dave tied up in the middle.

I see Olly and throw the coins on the floor “here is your chocolate coins – now give me back my minion!” “Never” Olly eats the coins I have given her to discover that they are filled with poison. I rescue Dave, detonate a grenade and run to safety.

7 – Something you had that was stolen

An old ‘friend’ of mine tried to steal my final year project idea without my permission and tried to use it as their own idea for a potential television show idea. Needless to say i was very angry, i would of been more so if she had it commissioned but lucky for her she knew hardly anything about it and mis-sold it. And i am no longer ‘friends’ with that person.

8 – The Long Lost Roommate

Someone I knew at University, had a housemate that would “get lost” on the way to the kitchen in the flat usually when they had a heavy night out. The housemate whose room was opposite the kitchen, would leave a trail of mini scotch eggs from his bedroom to the side of the hall so he never got lost.

9 – What a character holding a blue object is thinking right now. 

This object is blue, i have no idea why it is blue or why the person made this object this colour. Why did they decide to make this object specifically this shade of blue? Why did they not make it a darker of lighter colour blue? This object is just SO blue it mystifies me.

