Three years ago i bought a book in Tampa which is meant to be a great for creative like minds and for the past three years I have made it my New Years Resolution to complete it. The book is called 642 Things To Write About by The San Francisco Writers Grotto. I never got round to writing many of them so what’s a better way then getting through them then writing a few as an article each week! Enjoy!

10 – Write a scene where the only spoken dialogue is ‘uh-huh’ ‘ umm’ ‘urrr’ ‘mm-mmmm’

Sheldon, Leonard, Howard and Raj have all got an illness which means they can’t use real words to talk. They are arguing about a scientific equation. They all look at the board – Sheldon is standing next to it trying to prove a point to the others, Ferosciously waving his hands = ‘urrrr urrrr urrrr uh-huh? uh-huh?” He realises that no-one understands him and slouches and wilts down. “urrrr” Howard gets up out of his chair pushes Sheldon out of the way and makes a ‘uh-huh’ cough noise. He wiggles his eyebrows to Leonard and Raj and corrects Sheldons work. Leonard and Raj shout ‘grrrrr’ because it is right. Howard looks at Sheldon with a ‘You Go Girlfriend’ type of attitude and goes ‘mm-mmmm’ to Sheldon. As he walks away Sheldon pushes Howard over the settee in a mood.

11 – Tell a complete stranger about a beloved holiday tradition

Something that is becoming a tradition in my family is going travelling at Christmas. Every December around the 15th we go away to a different country for both christmas and new years Its a great time to go abroad as you experience other peoples cultures at the festive time of the year and see how they celebrate.

12 – You have just swallowed your pride and done something you didn’t want to do. Your friend wants to know why. The two of you are driving around an almost full parking garage looking for a space for the friend’s oversize pickup. Write the scene.  

“I did it because I had to.” I look over at my friend and she seems pretty focussed on the task at hand that I am not sure if i should continue to talk. We were in a car park, it was a Saturday afternoon (I suggested we left earlier, but she has a habit of always running late whenever we plan to meet up). So as you can guess it was manic and it was fight for the death for car parking spaces.

“Yes, but I Don’t see why – everything was going so well, you looked so happy.” We see a car parking space, challenge the person opposite to us but we let them win as whats the point in fighting for a small space next to a four by four? Exactly.

“The thing is I wasn’t happy. It was not good away from choice. He wanted me to be someone i am not and was trying to mould me and control me. He was trying to take over every aspect of my life, i wasn’t happy.” We turn the corner and finally find a space! No-one is racing for it, or probably seen it, so we head towards it and parallel park.

My friend stops the car, turns off the ignition and looks straight at me ” i am sorry, i promise you i will be there for you thoughout this. Now, lets go and buy a crappy movie and some chocolate.”

