Not too long ago, I was having one of those days where you just sit there and read one thing on Wikipedia that you originally went there for but then find a random word lit up in blue that entertains you more that you click through to that page, then another one and before you know it you forgot why you went to the website and end up so wrapped up on the topics you are exploring instead.

I clicked onto a link and then once that page opened my world changed when I saw a word on the new page lit up in blue. The name of a game, not just any computer game but one that i used to play as a kid and I had completely forgotten – in that one second it felt like my world had come crashing down.

How could I have forgotten that this game existed?! I spent many hours playing this specific game and yet time had decided to block out that memory from me and banish it from my brains existence – how is that even possible?

From a very young age, I was introduced to gaming – I remember being about five years old sitting on my aunts bed playing games like Mario or Sonic The Hedgehog on her Sega MegaDrive, I remember being so excited when I was bought my first Playstation that the smile from my face wouldn’t fade (and i sure that I cried as well) and I used to spend many evenings after school gaming with my mum, spending hours playing against each other on Crash Team Racing and even watching her play Tomb Raider 2 whilst I used to hide behind a pillow and shout at the screen when the bad guys popped up from nowhere (hey, back then it was pretty intense for a kid at 9 years old).

The fact that I had just rediscovered this name after many years made me realize something, whilst it is great the advancements in technology and that it has allowed us to bring new elements to gaming (such as Virtual Reality, better graphics etc), the old classics are being left behind and forgotten about. I used to spend hours playing games on the Playstation, Nintendo etc but because games are now easier to access with the introduction of apps as well as consoles, i now find myself sitting there using one finger to jump a Mario about on an app then actually using the skill involved in some of the other games out there and doing what I did when I was younger which was sit there with my friend playing the HORSE game on Tony Hawks and both being so good at Manual tricks that neither of us bailed on the letter H for a good half an hour or so because we were competing on who had the biggest skill with balance and tricks.

So welcome to a brand new feature that is dedicated to all those games and characters that the world has forgotten about, the characters that once made us smile, the platform games that once agitated us and the games that failed altogether. To start of this feature, I am going to talk about the game that inspired this feature to being with – Tomba! / Tombi!

The game Tomba! (or as I knew it growing up in the United Kingdom, Tombi!) was a game created by Developers Whoopee Camp for the Playstation and was released in 1997 in Japan and 1998 in North America and The United Kingdom.

The game was a side scrolling platform game in which the player would control the wild boy with pink hair and green shorts through the group of islands to search for his grandfathers bangle that was stolen by some evil pigs.

The game was a 2D based, however there were parts of the game where you could jump into the background or climb into a new plane. To attack the evil pig enemies you would grab them, do a flip with them in your hand and then they would be thrown in the air and could be used to open items such as treasure chests and eggs. You could also use various weapons such as a Boomerangs to hit enemies as well as swing on branches and poles.

The game was based all around different missions, where the hero, Tomba is employed by various people to complete a number of tasks that gain you AP points which then can be used to open AP boxes which contained food.

When the game was released it received a number of positive reviews, praising the games graphics, however was criticized for the music and the fact that there was limited save points throughout the game.

Tomba! received a sequel game which was called Tomba! 2 – The Evil Swine Returns in 1999 and was also praised for its gameplay and graphics but was yet again criticized for its music with reviewers stating it was ‘annoying’ and ‘monotonous’. Shortly after the sequel was released, the production company, Whoopee Camp went out of business afterwards, this makes the game have a high rarity because of this.

 

This article was originally written by The Phoenix Remix Editor for the website of Nerd HQ for the beginning of this year. 

