Three years ago i bought a book in Tampa which is meant to be a great for creative like minds and for the past three years I have made it my New Years Resolution to complete it. The book is called 642 Things To Write About by The San Francisco Writers Grotto. I never got round to writing many of them so what’s a better way then getting through them then writing a few as an article each week! Enjoy!
82. An estranged mother and son who haven’t seen or spoken to each other in more than twenty years meet in line at the post office in December, arms full of packages to be mailed. What do they say to each other? 

Mildred was standing in a queue at the post office – of all the time she could of posted her letters and presents to close friends she chose the last delivery day of the year, perfect. The queue was so long it’s flooding out the door . The person in front of Mildred also has so many parcels that If they take too long getting to the front they could be there for ages and the post office will close.

Finally they get to a turning but if the queue and the guy in front of her turns and she sees his face and instantly recognises it. “Jim” Jim turns at the Face and drops all the packages he had in his arms. “mum?” The two hadn’t spoken for years because Mildred and Jim fell out because of his wife not getting on with her. Not anymore, the look at each other then go back to being strangers in the line.


83. Write a scene that begins: “it was the first time I killed a man.” 

“It was the first time I killed a man. I didn’t mean to, some would say that I should be horrified but at the same time, I can’t help but feel a little bit proud of myself as well.

It’s ok, I see you there questioning how I can feel proud of killing a man, well if you know the situation, I am sure that you would feel exactly the same.

The said man died because I made him laugh too much. Some would say it was a heart attack, but he was at my stand up show and he laughed so much at the joke that it caused major issues and he fell on the floor laughing and died.

It’s not something i set out to do and it’s not something I plan to do again.

