How Improv Changed Our Lives

How improv changed my life – New Friends 

I Suppose one thing that Improv has done more then anything for me is help me meet and make lots of brand spanking new friends. When I started doing improv in 2015, I did it 50% to meet new people as i had just moved to a city hundreds of miles away from all my family and friends. To me though, improv friends are not like other friends, they are more like family.

I have met so many great people over the last couple of years that in hindsight I probably wouldn’t of met in normal situations. I have met people from all walks of life, some who work for the council, some who work in radio, others who work for banks and a few that actually get to do comedy as their full time job! It’s truly amazing, to think that some people that are now people i spend most of my time with i met just because I took up improv.

I am very lucky, because I dont just have my family and my normal friends, I now have an improv family of friends both in Newcastle and in London and the one thing that is great about the improv community is that everyone is so friendly! I have only come across a few people that haven’t been very nice but considering i have met a lot of people whilst starting, that is a very small percentage. The whole improv community is supportive for one another and they are always there for you. There are lots of lovely social gatherings as well so its not all about improv its all about building the friendships you want.

I can’t see myself ever stopping improv, but if i do, i will go away being thankful for all the great people I met whilst doing it.

Leave a comment